Updating the currently checked out branch this may cause confusion

Now it’s time to merge those equally awesome lines of code into the you may safely delete your branch.If you find a bug, just create a new branch and repeat the process. Imagine Lord of the Rings without the all those ugly orcs and Uruk-Hais — pretty tasteless right?

updating the currently checked out branch this may cause confusion-72

So if you submit a pull request with four or five commits without know to do this, are you hosed?

Will you have to do the bad reputation, and if you do it the consequences could range from getting kicked off the team to getting fired to getting hellbanned from touching a computer for the rest of your life. Learn it, love it, and grow old with it (until something better comes along! As you’ve seen, uses for rebase run the gamut from “keep the history clean” to “holy crap that solves problems in a different way than I would have thought of before”.

Tortoise SVN will even suggest a commit message, a concatenation of messages from the commits that you just finished merging.

The more often you merge with , the less code you’ll have to merge each time, thus reducing the probability and complexity of conflicts. You developed and tested an awesome feature at your branch in (almost) complete isolation.

folder in order to commit or build something and they won’t get affected by your changes. If you’re working alone you don’t have to worry about locking files, but if two or more developers are working on the same branch, locks work as they did on is called “merge” on SVN, while git calls this process rebasing.

For newcomers this may cause confusion since “merge” is also what you do when you definitively integrate your branch into trunk.

From the man page: “git rebase: Forward-port local commits to the updated upstream head”.

If you’re still confused, let’s look at an example.

well, SVN needs help deciding, it has two possible candidates, as you can see in the Theirs pane (left) and Mine pane (right).

You can either right-click the line full of or press the Use block button located at the Ribbon.

If your merge produced conflicts and you had to manually resolve them, them YOU MUST test all code involved in those conflicts. Your branch continues equally awesome after the merge?